



Comment on suggestion 9

Lockhart Shire Council 2 pages



Lockhart Shire Council

FROM THE OFFICE OF THE MAYOR

File Ref: PV:SJ: 23/13592

6 November 2023

Redistribution Committee for New South Wales Locked Bag 4007 CANBERRA ACT 2601

Dear Sir/Madam

2023-24 New South Wales Redistribution

The Lockhart Shire local government area is currently contained in the Electoral Division of Riverina.

Lockhart Shire Council submits that the local government area should be contained wholly within the one electoral division and that it should remain in the Division of Riverina.

Council is aware that some suggestions made for the 2023-24 New South Wales Redistribution have proposed that the Lockhart Shire local government area be transferred to the Division of Farrer. These suggestions are not supported by Lockhart Shire Council.

Council maintains that the local government area should remain in the Division of Riverina having regard to the community of interest and the social, educational and cultural connection between the Shire and the City of Wagga Wagga as well as the connection with Wagga Wagga for accessing government services. In support of Council's position I also note that:

- Council is a member of the Riverina Eastern Regional Organisation of Councils (REROC) for resource sharing, collaboration and advocacy purposes. Seven of the eight member councils are situated in the Division of Riverina.
- For the NSW Government's strategic planning purposes, particularly with respect to economic development matters, Lockhart Shire has been placed in the Eastern Riverina Functional Economic Region together with Coolamon, Junee and Wagga Wagga local government areas all of which are in the Division of Riverina.

- Lockhart Shire has combined with Coolamon, Junee and Wagga Wagga local government areas to form the Riverina Fire Zone for bush fire management purposes.
- Council is a member of Eastern Riverina Arts along with seven other Councils, six of which are situated in the Division of Riverina.

Having regard to the reasons outlined above, Council respectfully submits that the Lockhart Shire local government area appropriately remains within the Electoral Division of Riverina.

The opportunity to make a submission is appreciated.

